mopacoastal.blogg.se

Calibre onyx boox
Calibre onyx boox









The more I read and get used to holding it, the less it happens. From using it, I do have a slight problem that how I hold the Poke2 tends to cause me to very lightly touch the screen, because that margin really isn’t very wide. I have to say that I’m a convert: the Poke2 feels slimmer and sharper, and the Kindle isn’t curved enough that it makes it significantly nicer to hold. I took some comparison pics with the Kindle: Kindle Paperwhite on the left, Onyx Boox Poke2 on the right. I have both a Kindle Paperwhite and a Kobo Aura 2, which are pretty comparable with each other in terms of weight, shape and feel. Well, it wasn’t a joy to order it: they had very few units available due to delays in manufacturing during the pandemic, and then there were delays in dispatching and of course also delays with Fedex (although this is not their fault at all, and not really the fault of Fedex either it’s just the way things are). It can handle pretty much all the popular file types. It’s also supposed to be better for PDFs than Kobo or Kindle. It’s one of the lightest and smallest readers out there, touted as the closest thing to the Kobo Mini that I adored (and would still use, had it only a built-in light). There are other neat features, like the screen light: you can adjust both the strength and the temperature of the light, to create a comfortable reading experience and to cut down on blue light. The selling point for me is that the Poke2 is built on Android, meaning that it can download any app on the Google Play Store: Amazon and Kobo, of course, but also various apps tied to libraries like Libby and BorrowBox, or subscription services like Scribd.

calibre onyx boox

The Poke2 is one of their newer models, and it didn’t really take me long to take the plunge when I read up on the specs.

calibre onyx boox calibre onyx boox

I knew about the Onyx Boox ereaders, but I’d never even handled one, and there was no way to get to play with one in advance, so I was hesitant. I haven’t loved the user interface on the most recent Kobos, and Kindle’s software has all the same flaws I found annoying when I owned a Kindle Keyboard. But they’re not the only ereaders out there, and I’ve been thinking for a while about getting hold of an ereader that’s a bit less tied to a specific ebook store. When it comes to ereaders, everybody knows about the Kindles and Kobos - there’s brand-name recognition there, even if you’ve never owned them.











Calibre onyx boox